3.3: Establish and develop international linkages

Number of Regulatory MoUs in place.
Working Group
Implementation Progress

The Authority has signed various MoU's with both local and international regulators, standard setting bodies and associations. The MoU's are tailored to address various regulatory issues and foster collaborative working relationships. The MoU's signed by the Authority are:

  1. SC Malaysia (1997) - The MoU provides a framework for Mutual Assistance and Co-operation;
  2. IOSCO MMOU (2009) - Mutual cooperation and consultation among IOSCO Members to ensure compliance with, and enforcement of, their securities and derivatives laws and regulations;
  3. SEC Ghana (2011) - The MoU aims at supporting product improvement key among them Real Estate Investment Trusts;
  4. EASRA (2011) - The MoU provides a framework for cooperation and consultation to achieve their common objectives, that is:
    • To foster market integration of the East African Capital Markets by establishing a basis for technical operation on specific programs and projects as members may agree from time to time and
    • To foster mutual assistance, including the execution of requests and the sharing of information;
  5. FSC - Mauritius (2012) - To enhance the supervision of cross-border transactions and the fight against money laundering. It also establishes a framework of cooperation to promote mutual assistance in capacity building and to facilitate the exchange of information;
  6. SEC Nigeria (2012) - The MoU provides a framework for Co-operation, Consultation and Exchange of Information;
  7. ACCA (2012) - To cooperate on activities and events which will advance the deepening of financial services sector;
  8. Financial Services Board South Africa (2012) - The MoU provides a framework for Co-operation, Consultation and Exchange of Information;
  9. Financial Reporting Centre (FRC) (2013) - The MoU sets forth the Authorities' statement of intent to establish a framework for supervision of financial institutions, mutual assistance, co-operation and the exchange of information in the fulfilment of their respective supervisory responsibilities and combating Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism;
  10. Institute of Certified Public Secretaries of Kenya (ICPSK) (2013) - Co-operate on the actualization of the ICPSK-CMA conference for county governments aimed at advancing the deepening of financial services and governance at the county level government;
  11. CMA, CBK, IRA, RBA and SASRA (2013) - Collaboration on the supervision of financial institutions and on other matters of mutual interest;
  12. KICD, CMA, CBK, IRA, RBA and SASRA (2014) - Development of curriculum and materials for financial sector regulators.
  13. Chartered Institute for Securities and Investment, Fitch 7 City Learning Limited and CMA Mutual Non-disclosure agreement (2014) - The MoU provides a framework for the institute, Fitch learning and Capital Markets Authority of Kenya to explore a business opportunity under which each may disclose its confidential information to the other;
  14. Chartered Institute for Securities and Investment (CISI) (2014) - The MoU provides an effective framework for collaboration between the parties. The parties agreed to work together on the implementation of a certification programme for the capital markets sector in Kenya;
  15. CMC Angola (2015) - Promotes and facilitates information sharing and technical assistance among the two regulators. The purpose of the partnership is primarily to support supervisory and regulatory coordination between Kenya and Angola, with an ultimate goal of ensuring that markets are fair, efficient and transparent;
  16. Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI) (2015) - To identify the roles and responsibilities of each party as they relate to the implementation of Capital Markets Fraud and Investigations Unit (the unit) housed within CMA;
  17. Unclaimed Financial Assets Authority (UFAA) (2015) - Collaboration on the supervision of unclaimed financial assets and on other matters of mutual interest;
  18. CMA and Australian Securities and Investment Commission (ASIC) (2016) - The agreement sets up a framework for co-operation between the CMA and ASIC in the expanding space of innovation in financial services;
  19. The Institute of Certified Public Accountants (ICPAK) (2016) - Cooperation and facilitate collaboration between parties;
  20. ACCA (2017) - Promoting mutual co-operation for the advancement of the financial services sector;
  21. The Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM) Financial Services Regulatory Authority (FSRA) (2017) - The purpose of this cooperation agreement is to provide a framework for cooperation and referrals between the innovation functions of each Authority. The framework centres on a referral mechanism which will enable the Authorities to refer innovation businesses to their respective innovation functions. It also sets out how the Authorities plan to share and use information on innovation in their respective markets;
  22. Kenya Bankers Association (KBA) (2018)- To promote the financial sector through research, stakeholder engagement, data sharing, and analysis.
  23. Kenya Association of Manufacturers (KAM) (2019)  - To promote the growth and development of the manufacturing sector through the capital markets;